Falling into place

One of my favorite things is making a to-do list..probably the only thing that satisfies me more than making a to-do list is being able to check things off as they get done. With my big move coming up, I’ve been doing a lot of lists. Not just lists, but sub-lists, and sub-lists of my sub-lists. I have 89 days until takeoff. That means it’s too far away to do anything drastic yet. I can’t really pack, because I’m still going to need things. I can’t apply for jobs, because most employers want you to start way sooner than 3 months from now, plus I can’t afford the extra travel to accommodate interviews. Phone interviews can be an option, but generally most people want to meet you before they decide to bring you on the team. I can’t make my savings account accumulate faster, I can’t get certain things done until certain other things are done, and I can’t actually make my online listings sell any faster. It’s all very frustrating. It’s scary, and I feel like I want to do something but there isn’t much to do. I do, however, feel particularly confident in the fact that The first 2 week block I planned out went exactly as planned. I have the exact amount saved that I said I would, the bills are all paid (including car insurance for 6 months), I’ve located a second cat carrier for cheap (thanks to the LetGo app), and I’ve found some boxes so I can start sorting through things and getting rid of things I won’t need.

I’m really glad that this move is going to give me a chance to live as a minimalist to the fullest. I don’t need a lot of the things I have. They are nice things, and there is nothing wrong with them, but how beautiful will it be to be able to move without worries about how all my stuff can come with me! I’m glad that I’ll be able to sell items and make a little extra cash, and the stuff I can’t sell is going to be donated to those who really need it, which is a beautiful thing.

I found this wonderful site/app called Freedcamp that allows you to manage all of your projects in one place. The organizational side of me is really excited about this and I’ve been having fun playing with it. I love being able to list out the tasks and events I have coming up and know when I finished even the smallest project. It’s amazing how much even a little progress means when you’re waiting around like I am, totally filled with anxiety. Each little check box is another victory. Seeing the immense amount of things I have to do combined with having each thing broken into the tiniest elements really helps me feel like I’m getting somewhere, even if it doesn’t seem like I’m doing much.

So for the next 89 days I’m just gonna keep on truckin’! We’re almost there…Florida here we come!

*~*MR*~*

Leave a Reply

