When things don’t work out

Someone left my job, which should have given me the opportunity to stop doing god-awful swing shifts and take a day job. I’m union, so they couldn’t just give it to me, but they had to go through a certain process. Despite that, my boss basically guaranteed me the job. She had supposedly looked at all of the people who could possibly apply, wrote the posting so it would be unappealing to other people, and only left it up for the shortest time frame allowed. So I was really surprised when I got to work today and found out I didn’t get the job, and someone from outside of my department did.

I’m mostly bummed because I’ve worked my ass off for this place. I’ve covered shifts that no one else would, I’ve worked countless numbers of overtime hours, and I’m very well liked by the rest of the staff. I don’t get to advance, but someone new is allowed to come in and take over. Not fair in my opinion.

Anyway, I’m trying not to be upset about this. Usually when things don’t work out one way, its because something better is waiting. I ended up applying for 2 other jobs today and I’m on the lookout for others. I do want to move in a few months, and worse comes to worse I make it sooner. I don’t want to work for people who don’t value their employees.

I like my job and most of my co-workers. We have good benefits here. Still, I don’t think I want to work somewhere I’m not valued whatsoever. I’m not going to let myself get continuously stepped on and not do anything about it. I deserve better. Maybe this was the motivation I need  to go somewhere else and do something better.

*~*MR*~*

One thought on “When things don’t work out

Leave a Reply

