Switching Shifts

So a miracle happened and one of my co-workers is retiring. She’s a sweet lady, but definitely not the best worker in the world. Besides the fact that I won’t have to follow her anymore, I have also decided to take her job, which my boss is ecstatic about. This means no more nights and swing shifts for me. It does mean consistently more hours, which I’m moderately on the fence about, but the more I look at it, the more exciting it is.

I’ve been working swing shifts for 2 years, and the older I’m getting, the harder it is on me. My body just can’t take it anymore. I’m constantly tired, always cranky, and can never seem to find the time or motivation to get anything done. And that doesn’t even touch on the fact that it’s been killing my relationship! JT and I hardly ever have time together. When he gets home from work, I’m usually going in.

I’m pretty stoked about this change, and I have a lot of ideas of things I want to do once this change happens. I’m actually excited about the fact of making friends with 6am. I’ll be working approximately 4 days a week (only 4 hours one of those days, and usually not having to come in until 3pm) so I hope on my days off, I’ll still be inclined to wake up at 6, and possibly even be able to do yoga! That will also mean I have more off days to go to the gym (who wants to go to the gym after a 12 hour shift? Or better yet, before a night shift?). I also feel like I’ll be able to find more time to meditate and make use of the new Buddhist altar I have in my house.

There are a few downsides, like not being able to attend temple as much, consistant 12 hour shifts, and getting stuck with the 3p-7p 4-hour block. I feel like those things are minor compared to the life I’ve been dealing with trying to make my body understand that we have no consistency in life. I’m really excited to see how this change makes me feel and what wonderful things I can incorporate into my life now (like a normal sleep schedule?).

I’ve heard that things show up exactly when you need them, and I feel like this isn’t an exception to that rule. I really hope to make some major positive life changes in the next few months, and I can’t wait to see where things go from here!!

*~*MR*~*

Leave a Reply

