30 Day Writing Challenge–Day 18

c9fcda18a4eb5c3df11ae9ebc7eefa69

Oh boy. My beliefs. I think I’ve touched quite a bit on this subject throughout my blog, but in thinking about it, I also suppose that not all beliefs have to have any kind of religious content. With that being said, here we go:

I believe that we all need to start being nicer to each other. Why do we always feel the need to make some shitty comment about another person? I feel like in a majority of the interactions we have with people throughout the day, we have to say something negative about another person. I think we can all be better than that and it’s our duty to do so. Let’s not act like we aren’t all shitty people from time to time. None of us are perfect so let’s quit acting like it.

I believe that we should share the joys of others. I have a cousin who’s girlfriend is pregnant and they are very excited. I’m not a big fan of kids, but since they are excited I want to be excited with them. I tried to share the news with my mom and all I got was negativity–his divorce is barely final, he isn’t married to the girlfriend, my mom barely knows his other kid, so who cares about this one…ect. What a shame. He’s not asking any of us to raise or support the kid, he’s happy, and that’s really all the matters, right? Why do we have to be so negative when other people experience joy? We want them to delight in our joys, so we should meet them half way.

I believe we should all have a cause or causes to work for. Mine is typically animal welfare. I volunteer at the Humane Society. Sure, it makes my schedule a little more busy than I would like, but the animals need someone to care for them and I can do that. Maybe your cause is children, the hungry, the homeless, whatever it is, pick something and care about it.

I believe that instead of taxes as they are today, we should be able to allocate a percentage of our income to the services we feel are necessary. We need taxes to fund public services, but I think it should be up to us how that money is allocated.

I believe that we need to take better care of our bodies. I mean from a societal level. It’s hard to eat right and exercise when there are awful nasty products being pushed in our direction. Not only do places push these gross things, they lie about what is in them. Why don’t we want to take care of ourselves? We have to live in these bodies, we might as well take care of them. Organic food should be on the forefront and it should be cheaper. This chemical laden garbage that we are consuming shouldn’t even be a thing. We should want the healthier options. We should also want to be active. If you are able bodied, why not get out and do something instead of sitting around all the time?

I believe that we all should have opportunities to travel. It is important to know and understand what we can about other cultures. It doesn’t have to be somewhere half way around the world, go check out a different part of your own country or state where people are a little different. You might be surprised at what you find. And with that being said, be respectful of other cultures while you are there.

That’s just a few things I believe, but I could go on all day. What are some of your core beliefs, religious or not?

*~*MR*~*

 

Leave a Reply

