30 Day Writing Challenge–Day 13

c9fcda18a4eb5c3df11ae9ebc7eefa69

Wow…somewhere I’d like to move or visit. Pretty sure I could write a couple of books on this subject. Let’s start with places I’d like to move.

I’ve always kind of had my heart settled on Columbus, Ohio. It’s about 2 hours from where I am now, and I figured it would be a great first destination. Close enough to family if I need something, yet far enough away that they can’t bug me all the time. I’ve always liked Columbus, as there is a lot to do there. It has a big city feel without being packed in like sardines. It also has nice suburbs, which could be an option. My dad lived there for a few years back in the late 70s (well before I was born or thought of!) and he always said it was nice then. I know they’ve done a lot of building up since then, so I imagine there would be even more to do there as a resident now.

Another destination I always wanted to move to is North or South Carolina. I don’t really have a preference to either one, just want to be near a beach. I’m about an hour from a (dirty) lake beach right now, but I want to be within 2 hours of an ocean beach. As much as I enjoyed visiting the west, I feel like I’m more of an East Coast kind of person. Some day I’d like to find out.

After visiting Florida last year, a wrench more than less got thrown into my plans. I’ve been tempted to scrap Columbus and the Carolinas and just move down to Florida. That doesn’t mean I wouldn’t move somewhere else later, I plan on moving quite a bit in my life if I can, but once I move to a warmer climate, I’m pretty sure moving back to Ohio is out of the question. Maybe I should stick with Columbus first just to get it out of the way. Either way, somewhere between Ocala and Tampa would be lovely since I’ve got family in Ocala…I have a couple job leads in Sarasota, so we’ll see what happens.

I feel like if I ever decided to try out West Coast living, it would have to be in Seattle. I liked Portland a lot too, but in just the 6 hours I had to spend in Seattle, I’m pretty sure I fell in love. The gloomy weather would be the hardest part for me, because I love the sunshine. The atmosphere of the city of Seattle was captivating though. I also have family there, so that wouldn’t be a bad option either.

Now lets move on to places I’d like to visit. I have a massive bucket list, and I intend to try to do as much on it as I can. There are lots of places overseas on my list, but for the sake of this post, I’m going to keep it to what I want to do right here in the US for now.

I want to visit all 50 states. I’ve visited 15 so far!

 

I want to see all of the National Parks. So far I’ve seen none. Hoping to venture into Cuyahoga National Park soon since it’s not far from me. I want to get one of their cute little passport books and get it stamped everywhere. Sounds like a fun challenge.

I want to visit Colorado. For a number of reasons, but their culture is a big one. I hear there is so much to do there! Not to mention the legal marijuana. That was a fun part of Portland and I’m sure it would be a blast in Colorado as well.

I’ve been to NYC, but I’d love to check out anywhere in upstate New York, just for the contrast.

There are a couple resorts in New Hampshire that have some fun rides and such (Alpine slide and Mountain Coaster!) which I would love to check out.

Napa Valley is pretty high on my list. I’d like to see LA just to say I did, but if I don’t, I really don’t think I’ll be disappointed!

I want to get some Kansas City BBQ, go to New Orleans for Mardi Gras, hike in Arizona, and experience Texas. I’d also like to see Washington DC and the Arlington National Cemetery.

It would probably be easier to list all of the places I don’t want to go…but seriously, the more I can see in the world, the better. It’s a big world out there, I intend on experiencing as much of it as possible.

It’s a great big world out there! Go get some of it!

*~*MR*~*

 

Leave a Reply

