30 Day Writing Challenge-Day 2

c9fcda18a4eb5c3df11ae9ebc7eefa69

10 years. That’s a long time, isn’t it? Or maybe it’s not long at all…depends on how you look at it. 10 years ago, I was finishing high school. I was a much different person than I am today. It doesn’t seem like that long ago, but at the same time, with all the changes I’ve made, it also seems like a lifetime. 10 years from now, I’ll be 37. I like to see myself living somewhere on the east coast, within a 2 hour drive from a beach. I’d like to have my student loans paid off, and most of my credit cards too. Not that I have a massive amount of debt, but I could do so much more without that bogging me down.

I hope I can rescue a few more cats by then, and hopefully some dogs too. I hope to be even deeper rooted in my Buddhist practice as well. Maybe I’ll go back to school again, or at the very least continue to take classes on various subjects just for fun. I hope to get back some of my creative side, and maybe even be able to sell some of my art for extra income. I hope I can continue to work part time, and maybe then be able to do some side projects for fun and money. I’d rather work for myself than someone else. Work toward my own goals instead of someone else’s. I don’t have a good idea for a business that isn’t already overdone, and I’m scared to start one even if i did for a variety of reasons. I don’t feel like I have the resources to be successful if I were to do that. Maybe some day I can grow a garden and sell at farmer’s markets and such though. I feel like I’d be more than happy doing that.

I think a lot about my job. I’m a certified medical coder, though I’m not currently working in the field. I am in the medical field, but I’m a glorified secretary, not a coder. I wouldn’t mind working in a coding job, I do find it fun, but at the same time, I’m tired of being tied down. I want to find a way to be able to make the income I need while being able to be free to pursue my passions. But that’s pretty much what we’re all looking for, right? I guess some people are just more inclined to give up on that dream than others. I’m not really willing to give up on it. There has to be a way, and I’m in no rush to get rich. I have no desire to be rich. I just want to have enough, that’s all. I’m fine with a small place, reasonable car, and less stuff. I’d rather spend my money on experiences, and I don’t need a 5 star hotel and first class flights to do that. Just a simple walk in the park, tent camping, and street food is good enough for me. I just want to see the world as much as I am able. It’s a huge place of wonder and so many people take it for granted.

10 years from now, I hope I can continue to be a stronger person. I’m trying to develop a sense of what I really want and what I really want to accomplish and see in this world. It’s a harder question that one may think, and I’ve struggled with it for a while. I’ve always had the blessing/curse of seeing things from multiple angles, and sometimes that makes it hard to take a side. There are some issues that requires a side to be taken though, and I’m trying to cultivate the skills necessary to make those distinctions. I continue to prioritize my life, and hopefully in the next 10 years I can become so good at it that I have things in order.

Where do you want to be in 10 years?

*~*MR*~*

Leave a Reply

