Something new

So I’ve been working really hard to step out of my comfort zone and gain some new experiences. Many of them have turned out well, like glassblowing and visiting the Buddhist temple. I’ve learned a lot of things, gained some new skills, and learned how to handle situations that I’m not generally the best at. Today I tried Aikido . For those who don’t know, it’s a martial art that focuses on not harming either of the fighters. It’s not competitive, more of a cooperative helping each other train. You never realize just how out of touch you are with your body until you have to move it mindfully. This training went well with my Buddhist practice, as it is based in centeredness and being grounded. I was very interested to learn, and I’m glad I went. Unfortunately classes are a little out of my price range right now, but at least it’s something I know I could take up later.

Also, the new catalog for art museum classes came out so I was perusing and debating what I should dabble in for the next session. Unfortunately, the class I really wanted is on Monday nights and starts the same week as my upcoming Florida vacation. Bummer. I’d hate to miss a class, especially one that I’m taking on scholarship. So I have a few options. I considered sticking with glass, but trying out mosaic dinnerware construction (5 week class), making a beaded bracelet with the flameworking techniques I just learned (1 day class) or trying out blacksmithing and getting a new skill altogether making bronze vessels (2 day class). Can’t really decide where I want to go with that…your input would be greatly appreciated!

Either way, no matter what I do, I want to continue to grow and learn. Even if I try something and it sucks, at least I can say I tried it. Even if I never do that thing again, I can generally use the skills I learned and translate it to something else. We can all use new skills, and as big as this world is, I think we owe it to ourselves to experience it!

So anybody got some ideas on more new stuff I should try??

*~*MR*~*

 

Leave a Reply

