V-Day

So I usually do my blogging from work, and since I haven’t worked in what seems like forever, I also haven’t posted. Sorry about that!

A special day is coming up soon. Or at least some see it as a special day. To others, it is a nuisance, a corporate scam, or even just a day of depression. I just want to talk about a few of those aspects. I don’t have strong feelings about it either way, though I do think societal pressure to buy gifts is outrageous.

I love celebrating anniversaries, birthdays and the like because they are a celebration of a milestone. With days like Valentine’s Day, I’m not entirely sure what we are trying to commemorate. I mean I get that the day is actually a tribute to the late St. Valentine, but how we celebrate it now doesn’t correlate with that at all. There is rarely mention of a saint at all, but hearts, candy, and flowers instead. I really don’t need another day to celebrate love. I try to do that every day. And if I really feel the need to make a special day of it, there is always my anniversary. Why do we keep feeling the need to make up all of these holidays and put pressure on people to spend money? I mean I know you don’t need to spend money to have a great Valentine’s Day, but other people don’t always see it that way. People get so offended if their sweetheart didn’t blow a whole paycheck on spoiling them. Seems like a bit of a waste, not to mention the oversight of what the holiday is really supposed to be. Where’s the love, I mean, right?

Some people are inherently bothered by the idea of a festival of love. Not all of them are single either. Some people just can’t stand seeing others happy. They don’t want to be a part of all the mushy stuff. Trust me, I’d rather have the mushy stuff than all of the hate going on in the world right now, but maybe that’s just me. Who knows.

Corporate scam? Yeah, I could get on that wagon train. Companies want you to spend money. What better way than to guilt you into making your sweetie feel special? Not to mention getting your sweetie to be expecting something so you feel like there’s really no way out of it. I mean Walmart won’t come whack you over the head with a frying pan if you don’t buy something from them, but your girlfriend (or boyfriend!) just might! Now you’re caught in it. I don’t think I could survive in a relationship with that kind of expectation. I’ve never had a lot of money and for a large portion of my relationship with JT, he didn’t have a job. Our Valentine’s Day usually consists of handmade cards and a nice dinner (if we have the money to go out, we do, otherwise we just cook something). I don’t need gifts and presents and a constant monetary reminder that someone cares about me. I want to be with someone who loves me just as much the other 364 days, ya know?

A lot of people get super depressed around Valentine’s Day. I don’t get that. Why let it get you down? Celebrate the love you do have in your life, because I’m sure you have some somewhere. Celebrate with friends, or family. Better yet, just stop caring because you didn’t feel the need to go waste a bunch of money on someone! Just because you don’t have a love on Valentine’s Day doesn’t mean you never will. Feeling bad about it isn’t going to get you a date, statistically happier people are more likely to find relationships anyway. If you want one, get out there and find it. But the best advice I can give if you’re one of those people is to make sure you actually work on yourself first. Be interesting, be interested in things, explore, know what you want/like and what you don’t, be comfortable in yourself before dragging some other poor soul into it! Don’t boo-hoo about not being married yet or in a relationship, think about what you’re bringing to the table. No one wants to eat with the person who brought sardines. It’s not always easy to be happy with who you are, but it sure is worth it to work on it.

I’m not saying you should or shouldn’t celebrate Valentine’s Day, but do it in a way that works for you. If you’re in a relationship, communicate, don’t just expect. How do you like to celebrate? How does your partner like to celebrate? Figure these things out and go from there instead of getting sucked in. Valentine’s Day or not, we could all use a little love in the world. Go out and spread some!

*~*MR*~*

Leave a Reply

