Where is the love?

I know I’ve said before that I’m tired of politics, but I just can’t let this one go. This travel ban that has been put in place is absolutely making me sick. Now I’m not in agreement with illegal immigration, I think people should do it the right way and pull their fair share in this country, but what is happening to immigrants now is absolutely ridiculous. The people that Trump is trying to ban are entering the country legally…or at least they were. There are a variety of issues with this ban, and I feel the need to express my opinions on them.

First off, a ban on immigration from “terrorist countries” is going to do about as much good as a ban on guns. If a person is a criminal and they want to hurt people, they aren’t going to care about some stupid ban. They will find a way in and they will do their damage. And what about those immigrants from any other country that wants to do harm? They’re still allowed in. Or what about American citizens born and raised here who want to commit harm? Dylan Roof, James Holmes, Timothy McVeigh, Eric Harris & Dylan Klebold, those were all white guys. What exactly are you trying to prove here? The only people this is hurting are the ones who are already terrified for their lives, the ones who want to do good, and the ones with goals and dreams that are now being put on the back burner.

I get trying to prevent illegal immigration, because for one, it screws up how our country runs. Our tax rates and whatnot are based on the amount of services that need to be provided for X amount of people (not saying the government does a great job with that either, but that’s how it’s supposed to work). Undocumented individuals throw that number off. I am all about people coming here legally and working hard to achieve their goals though. A number of my friends and co-workers are immigrants and they are wonderful people. I can honestly say that their contributions have had a positive impact on our society. What I don’t get is how Trump thinks building some stupid wall (they build tunnels now, ya know…) or banning immigrants is going to fix these problems. The immigrants coming in legally are helping us to be the melting pot that we claim we are. Honestly looking back at history, this country has always marginalized one group or another, but we claim to be a diverse culture, and this is completely reverting.

Another issue I have with this is how it is tearing apart families. Its not like these people had any warning. Some of them were in the middle of a flight back home to their families when the orders were signed and they had to turn around and go back to where they came from. We’ve done a lot of work to attempt to prevent discrimination in this country and now we are multiplying the discrimination. It’s pathetic.

I just feel like this is a start to something much larger, and it scares me. Who’s next? I watch a lot of documentaries and I feel like I’ve seen this before. This is how some of the darkest periods in history have begun. I don’t know what we can do, but we have to do something. We need to stand up for human beings. My heart hurts right now, and usually I don’t get very emotional. I want to see us pull together as one people and make this right. I have hope, but it’s running out. Let’s not destroy what we claim we are building. Please wake up America. Don’t let this nightmare become our reality.

*~*MR*~*

Leave a Reply

