Merry Freakin’ Christmas

Well, Hello there. Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, Happy Hanukkah, whatever it is that you prefer. Regardless of whether you are religious or not, it’s hard to deny that this day isn’t ordinary. I’m not Christian anymore, but most of my family celebrates Christmas, and I figure why not just use it as a day to practice generosity, which helps me along my Buddhist path as well. I love giving. It makes me feel good. While receiving is always nice too, the older I get, the more joy I find in giving other people the things they enjoy.

I really did have a great Christmas today. It was the first one in a long time that I didn’t have a ton of things to do. I worked last night, so I was able to sleep in until about 11am, at which point I got up and made some cinnamon rolls (my Christmas tradition for years). As the rolls were cooking I scooped up my children (the two cats, of course) and brought them their stockings and gift. They got treats and toys, which they gave a polite sniff-over and then left alone. After they were done, my boyfriend got his gifts, which he loved. One being a pretty funny Chick-Fil-A calendar (with a card that gets him something free each month in 2017) and a bucket full of car care items to help him take care of his new car that he got a few months back. He liked it. I’m a practical gift person. I know how nice it is to get something you can really use. Frivolous gifts can be fun, but I think it is better when you get something you don’t have to feel guilty about.

My present is still in the mail somewhere, so maybe I’ll get it Tuesday when we go celebrate with my parents. Regardless, I’m not worried about it.  This may be the first year I haven’t had something to open on actual Christmas Day. It really didn’t bother me one bit. I was happy to see my cats playing and my boyfriend excited about getting to keep his car in good condition. I ate my cinnamon rolls, colored a picture of the Buddha while the boyfriend played Call of Duty with friends, then I took a nap before getting ready for work. I didn’t have to rush anywhere, I was with the people who are closest to me, and I got to spread joy. It felt really great.

A lot of people I work with are bummed out that they have to work on the holidays. We work at a hospital, so my answer back to them is that there is literally not one person in this building that wants to be here. The truth is we are lucky. We get to go home at the end of our shifts. Many of the people here will never go home. Some that will go home will never be the same again. Some are missing their families, some have no family to miss. Some are the families of sick people who are carrying around the burdens of their loved ones. The best we can do is come in here and show some compassion for these people. Some of them are not easy to deal with, I’ll give them that, but again, none of us want to be here, and they are in a worse place than us. It is our job to give them the best we can.

Now let’s get ready to bring in that new year!

 

*~*MR*~*

Leave a Reply

