Bah Humbug

Hey there.

I took some time off as I’ve been in a little mental slump lately, turns out my mental state doesn’t care much more for this cold weather than my body does. Anyway, I’m not here to bore you with my personal problems, I’m here to rant.

With Christmas coming up, every day I hear someone else complaining about having to spend money. A friend of mine told his girlfriend that he had to go out and buy wrapping paper because although he had a ton at home, none of it was Christmas themed. Are you kidding me? Someone is going to rip it to shreds and throw it away within minutes of seeing it. Use newspaper for crying out loud!

I guess what I am really trying to say is that corporations have ruined society. Everyone thinks they have to go out and buy the newest, prettiest, most expensive thing they can find just to keep their loved ones happy. I think that is ridiculous.

First off, why do we feel the need to buy excessive amounts of presents for people anyway? You can’t buy love. Why can’t we just appreciate the presence of those around us? I constantly hear people talk about how they don’t want to buy something for this person, or they feel like they have to because that person gets them something every year. If you insist on getting something for someone, why not make it something homemade or something that will truly mean something? This year I painted a picture for my dad and I’m giving my mom a few pieces I made in a glass blowing class. I know they will love them and I didn’t have to spend a dime. I work on art all the time, so I already had the supplies, and as for the glassblowing, I was taking the class anyway. And if you really don’t care for someone enough that you have no desire to get them anything, why do you feel obligated to do so? Because society said so? I say hogwash.

Another thing that bothers me is people who spend hundreds of dollars on presents for their newborn baby. You realize baby has no clue, right? If you really want to make an impact, get them a few books for when they are older, contribute to a savings plan for their future, or buy some extra necessary items that you might not otherwise be able to get. This endless supply of meaningless toys has got to go!

Personally, I have gotten farther away from Christmas every year. My goal is to be a generous person throughout the year and truly be there for my loved ones. I don’t base my worth on whether I got someone the best present, I just try to give them my best presence. I try to do things all year-long when I can instead of strapping myself to buy a bunch of disposable gifts for one time a year.

If you want to buy gifts for loved ones, I get it. Sometimes you just want to spread some extra cheer. The key is, stay within your means. I will never understand why people will practically take out a second mortgage to support their Christmas habit, and the whole time they will complain about having to spend so much money, and how they hate shopping, and no one appreciates anything, ect. If you don’t have it, don’t spend it. If your loved ones can’t understand that, maybe they need a little reality check anyway. Don’t turn your kids into spoiled little brats who expect everything. Maybe get them one or two meaningful things, but there’s no need to go overboard.

Now if you are one of those Buddy-The-Elf types who just can’t help themselves from going around spreading holiday cheer and you have the means to do so, I’m certainly not telling you to stop. What I am telling you is that if you decide to go crazy, don’t complain about it. I don’t want to hear about how you aren’t going to be able to afford the rent now because you got your 4-year-old the new iPhone. I don’t care that it took you 2 hours to find a parking spot at the mall. Guess what, don’t like it, don’t go! I don’t know why you would go out holiday shopping around the holiday time and expect the shops and roads not to be crowded.

And what is with all the rude people around the holidays (well, anymore all the time)? I thought this season was supposed to be about love and giving, not disdain and bitching. My goodness, people! Going out around the holidays almost guarantees getting screamed at, cussed out, trampled, hit, or becoming the latest victim of road rage. Can we all just give each other a break? That’s what I want for Christmas; some peace and quiet.

Do what you need to do, but let’s treat people with respect. Let’s not let a holiday that is supposed to be based around cheer and happiness turn us into monsters. Appreciate the things you get, and even more important, appreciate those who love you. Presence is the greatest present of all!

*~*MR*~*

Leave a Reply

